How to choose the right zone for your ticket

Published on

The public transport network in Ile-de-France is split into five zones, from Paris to the outer suburbs. You may need to select them when you buy your ticket. Which zone should you choose? Find out here.

The Île-de-France region is divided into five zones for regional public transport, from central Paris (zone 1) to the most distant towns (zone 5).

The zones you choose determine the price of your ticket and where you can go.

Choose the zone or zones that best suits your needs, and you will only pay to visit the places you want to, no more, no less!

How do I choose the zone best suited to me?

To choose your zone, check out which parks, museums, tourist sites, restaurants and other places that you want to discover!

If you want to stay in the centre and visit Paris’ most well-known sites.

Choose Zones 1 and 2.

If you want to discover the Île-de-France region, its green spaces, its basilicas and its chateaux.

Choose the all-zone passes so you can go wherever you want to.

Good to know

A Zone 1 and 2 ticket is valid in all Paris metro stations, even if some are actually in Zone 3. For example, you can go to the Grande Arche de la Défense station by metro with a t+ ticket. But if are on the RER or the bus, you will need a ticket noting Grande Arche de la Défense as the destination or one that is valid in Zone 3.

Which areas do the five zones cover?

Zone 1: Central Paris

Zone 1 covers central Paris, from the 1st to 20th arrondissements.

Tickets are valid across the capital:

  • Sacré Coeur and the Montmartre district,
  • the Pompidou Museum and its collections,
  • the Eiffel Tower and the Trocadéro gardens,
  • the Saint-Germain-des-Prés quarter,
  • concerts at the Accor Arena,
  • the lively Champs-Élysées and the Arc de Triomphe,
  • Notre-Dame Cathedral and the Latin Quarter,
  • the Opéra Garnier,
  • and many other theatres, museums and cultural venues.

Zone 2: the inner suburbs

Zone 2 covers the departments of the inner suburbs close to Paris, namely Hauts-de-Seine (93), Seine-Saint-Denis (92) and Val-de-Marne (94).

This includes for example the towns of Boulogne-Billancourt, Issy-les-Moulineaux, Montrouge, Ivry, Aubervilliers and Montreuil. With a Zone 2 ticket you can travel to:

  • the Stade de France for concerts and sporting events,
  • the famous Montreuil flea market,
  • the Domaine de Saint Cloud,
  • the Stade Roland Garros for tennis fans,
  • Ile Seguin,
  • the Museum of Photography in Bièvres
  • the Pavillon des Indes in Courbevoie,
  • and many other sites

Zone 3: beyond the inner suburbs

Zone 3 covers the towns beyond the inner suburbs.

This includes Asnières, Saint-Cloud, Saint-Denis, Courbevoie, Meudon and Sceaux. With a Zone 3 ticket you can travel to:

  • Saint-Denis Basilica,
  • Château de Malmaison,
  • the Cité du cinéma,
  • the Parc de Sceaux and its vast domain,
  • Saint-Cloud National Park,
  • the astronomical observatory at Meudon,
  • Meudon National Park and its many hidden places,
  • and numerous national museums and theatres.

Zone 4: the outer suburbs

Zone 4 covers the departments a little further from Paris which includes Essonne (91), Val-d'Oise (95), Seine-et-Marne (77) and Yvelines (78).

With a Zone 4 ticket you can travel to:

  • the Palace of Versailles and its gardens,
  • Orly Airport,
  • the Château de Monte-Cristo,
  • along the banks of the Seine for wonderful walks,
  • Saint-Georges church,
  • the Opéra de Massy,
  • and many other places.

Zone 5: the rest of Île-de-France and even further

Zone 5 covers everywhere else in the Île-de-France region and some surrounding towns beyond. With a Zone 5 ticket you can travel to:

Parc Astérix,

• Disneyland Paris,

• the Monet Foundation,

Roissy Charles de Gaulle (CDG) airport,

• the medieval city of Provins,

Rambouillet forest,

• the Château de Fontainebleau,

Thoiry Zoo and Safari Park,

• the Vexin Regional Park,

• and many other sites.